Crunching The Numbers: FireKeepers 400 at MIS

The FireKeepers 400 from Michigan International Speedway (MIS) is bound to produce some high speed, NASCAR racing. This type of racing is what Kyle Larson lives for. Afterall, he is the defending race winner and the most recent MIS winner.

Michigan International Speedway Track Specs

  • Track Configuration: 2 Mile D-Shaped Oval
  • Scheduled Laps: 200 (400 miles)
    • Stage 1 End Lap: 60
    • Stage 2 End Lap: 120
  • Turns 1-4 banking: 18°
  • Frontstretch
    • Length: 3,600 feet
    • Banking: 12°
  • Backstretch
    • Length: 2,242 feet
    • Banking: 5°

FireKeepers 400 Trends of the Race

  • Overtime: 1 (2008)
  • Caution Finishes: 4 (2004, 2006, 2008, 2015)
  • Rain Shortened: 2 (2006, 2015)
  • 2017 FireKeepers 400 Winners
    • Stage 1 Winner: Martin Truex Jr.
      • Finished P6
    • Stage 2 Winner: Martin Truex Jr.
      • Finished P6
    • Race Winner: Kyle Larson
      • Stage 1: P2
      • Stage 2: P3

Trending of the past 5 FireKeepers 400 races:

  • Margin of Victory 1.521 seconds
  • 8 cautions
    • First Caution: Lap 15
    • Final Caution: Lap 167 (33 laps to go)
  • 24 drivers on the lead lap

Trending of the past 10 FireKeeper 400 races:

  • Margin of Victory 2.000 seconds
  • 7 cautions
    • First Caution: Lap 19
    • Final Caution: Lap 170 (30 laps to go)
  • 23 drivers on the lead lap

FireKeepers 400 Pole Sitters

  • Pole winners have an average finish of 11.0
  • Average laps lead: 36.1 laps (18.1% of the race)
  • 21.4% of pole winners find their way to victory lane
  • Most laps led by a pole sitter is 138 (69.0% of the race) by Joey Logano in 2016
    • He went on to win that race

Pure Michigan 400 Winners

  • The average race winner’s starting position is 11.6
    • Mark Martin (driving for Hendrick Motorsports) started from P32 in 2009, the furthest back a race winner has started
    • The median starting position of the race winner is 8.5
    • The mode of race winner’s starting position is P1
  • 35.7% of the winners have come from starting in the top 5
  • 57.1% of the winners have come from starting in the top 10
  • Winning drivers have lead an average of 52.5 laps (26.3% of the race)
    • Fewest laps led by race winner: Mark Martin (Driving for Hendrick Motorsports) led 1 lap (0.5% of the race) in 2009
    • Most laps led by a race winner: Joey Logano (driving for Team Penske) led 138 laps (69.0% of the race) in 2016
  • There have been 11 different race winners from 7 different teams since 2004
    • Denny Hamlin leads the field with 2 wins
    • Hendrick Motorsports leads the field with 4 wins
  • Fun Facts
    • Denny Hamlin’s back-to-back wins are the only ones for Toyota

FireKeepers 400 Team & Manufacturer Statistics



Ford and Toyota maintain the top of the class positions this season, while Chevrolet continues to search for anything to get them on equal footing. Even tracks where Chevrolet holds the advantage, like most tracks this season, they have struggled. At Michigan International Speedway, you must have speed. This will be a telling sign if Chevrolet has made strides to keep up with Ford and Toyota.


FireKeepers 400 Predictions

The story all weekend will be around Kyle Larson and his love for these extremely fast tracks. This track suits his style of racing, but it also favors Chase Elliott, who is still searching for his first victory in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. We cannot forget about the powerhouses of Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, and Martin Truex Jr. either. Look for them to continue their hot streaks.

Ashley Hobbs

I was born on the 9th of March in a year which you need not know. I was born and raised in the great state of New Jersey, but I now reside in Florida. Here is a bit about myself:

I make friends in random places ?
Wife ❤️
Penguin Enthusiast ?
Mother of (3) Cats ?
Math Tutor ?
Jersey Girl ?️
Whovian ?
Go Pack Go ?

I hope you enjoy my segment, Crunching the Numbers, and getting insights into each weekend's NASCAR race!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :