Connect with us

High Limit Racing

Day Wins at RPM Speedway, Rockets Up From 4th


Corey Day in Victory Lane after winning at RPM Speedway (Photo: High Limit Racing Media)

CRANDALL, Texas — After racing in the Stockyard Stampede on Saturday night, the High Limit Racing series packed up and headed down the road to RPM Speedway for a 35-lap main event.

Kerry Madsen and Anthony Macri made up the front row that led the 24-car field to the starting line. As they all raced into Turns 1 and 2, Madsen was victorious by jumping out to an early lead. But Macri went high and attempted to pass Madsen multiple times down the backstretch and throughout Turns 3 and 4. As they crossed the start/finish line, Madsen was scored first and Macri second.

As Macri and Madsen still battled it out by seeing who could run the better line, Jacob Allen entered the mix by attempting to pass Macri for second. He opted to run the bottom line, as well. 

With 25 laps to go, Hunter Schuerenberg wheelied going into Turn 2 and caught his left rear on James McFadden’s right rear. This propelled Schuerenberg into the air and flipped him over, bringing out a caution and ending his dreams of winning the race.

Back in the pack, Zeb Wise and Corey Day battled it out for fifth. Wise went low and had a little bit more of his nose sticking out at the line to be scored fifth, but that didn’t last long as Day passed Wise back for fifth. 

Day had his sights set on fourth, and on Lap 19 he took over fourth from Brad Sweet by going way down low in Turn 1 and sliding in front of Sweet. Not only did this give him the fourth-place position, but it closed a huge amount of space between him and Allen.

Day drove all over the track and in different lanes to attempt to pass Allen to no avail. But down the back straight Day would use drafting, and the middle lane, to zip past Allen for third. Sweet took the low lane and this allowed Day to use the air that was coming from both Sweet and Allen to shoot himself ahead of them both.


Corey Day competing at RPM Speedway (Photo: CP Racing Photography)

With 11 laps to go, Day saw an opportunity arise with Macri and capitalized on it. Macri took the high side and Day went down low. As Day got ahead of him in the corner, he shot up the race track, did a little jiggle with the car and went to the high line, sliding in front of Macri and taking over second.

Rico Abreu got upside-down in Turn 1 a couple of laps later, bringing out a critical caution for Day.

On the restart, Madsen held the lead, but Day was rocketing towards the leader with an insane amount of speed and inertia. On Lap 29, Madsen went too low, hit the infield tractor tire and bounced his front end up. It caused him to slow down the tiniest bit and allow Day to zoom by him, no questions asked.

At the same time, Macri and Allen went at it for third. Going into Turn 3, Allen went down low, got ahead of Macri and slid in front of him as they exited 4. Crossing the line Allen had third and Macri was in fourth. That’s how it would stay for the finish as the 18-year-old Day won the race with Madsen in second, Allen third, Macri fourth and Sweet fifth. This race marked Day’s first with High Limit Racing for the 2024 season.

The High Limit Racing series travels to Red Dirt Raceway in Oklahoma on Tuesday for the first Midweek Money Series event.

Finish Start Car No. Driver Sponsor Status
1 4 14 Corey Day Myers Contractors Inc. Running
2 1 25 Kerry Madsen N/A Running
3 3 1A Jacob Allen Pell’s Tire Service Running
4 2 39M Anthony Macri J&S Classics Running
5 5 49 Brad Sweet Napa Auto Parts Running
6 14 83 James McFadden Mobil 1 Running
7 12 7BC Tyler Courtney NOS Energy Running
8 11 26 Zeb Wise Rayce Rudeen Foundation Running
9 13 19 Brent Marks M&M Painting and Construction Running
10 7 5 Spencer Bayston Truetimber Camo Running
11 21 5T Ryan Timms Citgard Engine Oil Running
12 16 1 Brenham Crouch Hi-Plains Building Division Running
13 8 42 Sye Lynch Fischer Body Shop Running
14 9 15H Sam Hafertepe Jr. Running
15 23 8 Cory Eliason Commerical Edge Running
16 24 9P Parker Price-Miller Chalk Stix Torsion Bars Running
17 10 88 Tanner Thorson Smith TI Brake Systems Running
18 15 55 Chris Windom NOS Energy Running
19 18 13 Justin Peck Water Treatment By Design Running
20 20 G6 Cody Gardner Brewer Trucking Running
21 17 24 Rico Abreu Rothwell Hyde Running
22 22 9 Kasey Kahne N/A Running
23 19 18T Tanner Holmes NexGen Def Running
24 6 73 Hunter Schuerenberg Inland Rigging Running

Brooke Johnpier is a staff writer at The Podium Finish covering NHRA and professional dirt racing, as well as a social media promoter. Besides TPF, Brooke is a part-time motorsports journalist with Speedway Illustrated magazine, and Race Pro Weekly, which is an outlet similar to TPF. Aspiring to pursue her dream of becoming a full-time automotive/motorsports journalist, Brooke is a freshman at St. Bonaventure University where she is majoring in Sports Media, and double minoring in Native American and Indigenous Studies and English. There, she is involved with all of the campus media, as well as the literary magazine. She is also an officer in two clubs. In her free time, Brooke loves reading, writing, going to the local racetrack, riding four-wheelers, working on cars, and riding in tractor trailers. Brooke is a music lover and percussionist, as well as a published author and women's rights activist.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in High Limit Racing