Connect with us

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series

Enfinger Wins Clean Harbors 175 As GMS Racing Winds Down

Enfinger enjoys another jubilant victory. (Photo: Mike Moore | The Podium Finish)

WEST ALLIS, Wisc. — The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series returned to the oldest operating motor speedway in the world on Sunday for the first time since 2009. The only driver in the field to have competed in that last race at the mile-long track was Matt Crafton, who finished 16th with Ron Hornaday Jr. winning the race. 

But in the end, it was a bittersweet victory. Grant Enfinger scored the win just days after GMS Racing announced it was seizing operations in the Truck Series. 

Enfinger earned the pole, and in a similar fashion to the ARCA race, the polesitter led the most laps and was the eventual winner of the race. Enfinger led the entirety of Stage 1, losing the lead after pit stops at the stage breaks.

Truck drivers can be known for being aggressive in their driving style which results in races that have multiple cautions and restarts. That was not the case in Milwaukee as the race only had seven cautions, two of which were for stage breaks.

One harrowing moment of the day came early in Stage 2, as the throttle on Greg Van Alst’s No. 20 Youngs Motorsports truck hung open sending him into the Turn 2 wall, collecting Brad Perez. As the two emerged from the infield care center, Perez stopped Van Alst to make sure he was doing OK. Van Alst said that was the first time he had ever had a throttle stuck open and “that one hurt”.

Grant Enfinger on Sunday at the Milwaukee Mile. (Photo: Mike Moore | The Podium Finish)

At the conclusion of Stage 2, Enfinger was once again the race leader but relinquished the lead as the team elected to make pit stops which included fresh tires on the No. 23. In what was close to a race-winning decision, seven cars elected to stay on the track at the stage break, one of which was Carson Hocevar.

Nearing the end of the race, William Sawalich, the winner of the ARCA race earlier in the day, got loose and smacked the wall, nullifying the 16-year-old’s chances of sweeping the afternoon. Sawalich was able to return to the race and was the beneficiary of the ‘lucky dog’ after an incident in Turn 3 involving Nick Sanchez and Corey Heim. Sawalich went on to finish the race in the 26th spot.

Carson Hocevar on Sunday at the Milwaukee Mile. (Photo: Mike Moore | The Podium Finish)

Hocevar held the lead for 40 laps, maintaining his lead until Lap 159. In the end, Enfinger had the fastest truck of the day and got by Hocevar to win his third race of the season. 

“We just had a really really good Champion car,” Enfinger said. “Honestly that is what it boiled down to. I think we were a top-10 truck. We weren’t bad, just nothing real special. Jeff (Hensley, crew chief)’s tweaks, it was all in the right direction. That first stage I felt like ok you know, we hit on something. Still, it felt like we were a little bit tight in the center that first stage and started using up the right rear tire by the end of it. But then the second stage [with] those adjustments we were pretty much lights out at that point.”

Enfinger is onto the Round of 8 in the Truck Series playoffs. 

Stage 1 Top 10 Results
  1. Grant Enfinger
  2. Nick Sanchez
  3. Taylor Gray (R)
  4. Corey Heim
  5. Christian Eckes
  6. Carson Hocevar
  7. William Sawalich
  8. Derek Kraus
  9. Chase Purdy
  10. Ben Rhodes
Stage 2 Top 10 Results
  1. Grant Enfinger
  2. Corey Heim
  3. Christian Eckes
  4. Carson Hocevar
  5. William Sawalich
  6. Nick Sanchez
  7. Ty Majeski
  8. Matt Crafton
  9. Tanner Gray
  10. Zane Smith
Clean Harbors 175 at The Milwaukee Mile Finishing Order
Finish Start Car No. Driver Sponsor/Make Status
1 1 23 Grant Enfinger (P) Champion Power Equipment Chevrolet Running
2 3 42 Carson Hocevar (P) Worldwide Express Chevrolet Running
3 6 19 Christian Eckes (P) Gates Hydraulics Chevrolet Running
4 8 11 Corey Heim (P) Safelite Toyota Running
5 22 88 Matt Crafton (P) Ideal Door/Menards Ford Running
6 7 4 Chase Purdy Bama Buggies Chevrolet Running
7 13 98 Ty Majeski (P) Road Ranger Ford Running
8 25 7 Derek Kraus (i) genera8tor Skills Accelerator Chevrolet Running
9 9 35 Jake Garcia Adaptive One Calipers Chevrolet Running
10 14 41 Bayley Currey GlobalTranz Chevrolet Running
11 11 15 Tanner Gray Serial 1 Premium E-Bikes Toyota Running
12 18 38 Zane Smith (P) Birch Gold Group Ford Running
13 4 17 Taylor Gray (R) JBL Toyota Running
14 15 24 Rajah Caruth (R) Wendell Scott Foundation Chevrolet Running
15 19 5 Dean Thompson Thompson Pipe Group Toyota Running
16 10 99 Ben Rhodes (R) Farm Paint/1848 Coffee Ford Running
17 24 9 Colby Howard Grant County Mulch Chevrolet Running
18 28 66 Conner Jones TSPORT Ford Running
19 29 32 Bret Holmes (R) Precision Garage Doors Chevrolet Running
20 16 16 Tyler Ankrum LiUNA! Toyota Running
21 20 45 Lawless Alan AUTOParkit Chevrolet Running
22 17 13 Hailie Deegan Ford Performance Ford Running
23 27 61 Sean Hingorani Fidelity Capital Toyota Running
24 2 2 Nick Sanchez (R) (P) Gainbridge Chevrolet Running
25 26 51 Matt Mills (P) J.F. Electric Chevrolet Running
26 12 1 William Sawalich Stakey/Soundgear Toyota Running
27 23 25 Matt DiBenedetto (P) Rackley Roofing Chevrolet Running
28 5 43 Daniel Dye (R) Hamlin & Associates Chevrolet Running
29 32 56 Tyler Hill MF1 Fantasy Racing Toyota Running
30 21 52 Stewart Friesen Ferris Commerical Mowers Toyota Running
31 33 33 Derek Lemke Super Cubes LLC Ford Running
32 30 12 Spencer Boyd Cronauer Law Chevrolet Running
33 35 22 Josh Reaume JAG Metals LLC Ford Running
34 36 20 Greg Van Alst CB Fabricating Chevrolet Accident
35 34 30 Brad Perez (i) Bread Rocket Toyota Accident
36 31 02 Josh Bilicki (i) Insurance King Chevrolet Accident

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Playoff Standings (Race No. 2 of 7)
Position Driver Points Points Behind Points Next
1 Corey Heim 2126
2 Christian Eckes 2117 -9 -9
3 Grant Enfinger 2114 -12 -3
4 Carson Hocevar 2112 -14 -2
5 Ty Majeski 2108 -18 -4
6 Zane Smith 2085 -41 -23
7 Matt Crafton 2065 -61 -20
8 Nick Sanchez 2059 -67 -6
9 Ben Rhodes 2056 -70 -3
10 Matt DiBenedetto 2039 -87 -17

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series