Connect with us


Scott Dixon Captures Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Win

Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon scored his 58th career NTT INDYCAR Series win following Sunday’s Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix. (Photo: Christopher Vargas | The Podium Finish)

DETROIT — Scott Dixon is simply unstoppable when it comes to his standard of excellence. As seen in Sunday’s Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix on the Streets of Detroit, the 43-year-old and six-time NTT INDYCAR Series champion has not shown signs of slowing down.

Starting fifth in the field of 26 drivers, Dixon bided his time in a race slowed down by eight cautions for 47 laps. From the onset of the race, carnage was the name of the game when a seven car incident in Turn 3 involved the likes of Pato O’Ward, Alexander Rossi, Linus Lundqvist, Will Power, Santino Ferrucci, Jack Harvey and Tristan Vautier.

During those opening 33 laps, Colton Herta, the polesitter, enjoyed the lead. Then, Josef Newgarden, the two-time and defending Indianapolis 500 champion, led on Lap 34 before Christian Lundgaard held the number one spot for the next six laps.

Kyle Kirkwood paced the field from Laps 41 to 64 before Alex Palou, two-time and defending series champion, led Lap 65.

Along the way, Kyffin Simpson and Helio Castroneves made contact in Turn 5 on Lap 16 while Scott McLaughlin, Power, Rinus VeeKay, Herta and Vautier, Lundqvist, Armstrong, Lundgaard and Romain Grosjean all had their separate on track incidents.

Not long after, Scott McLaughlin and Sting Ray Robb made contact in Turn 5 on Lap 63 while Newgarden and Palou made contact with each other on Lap 70.

This set the stage for Dixon, the methodical, cagey racer, to take the lead on Lap 66. Unlike the five prior leaders, the driver of the No. 9 PNC Bank Dallara Chevrolet, fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing, was not backing down from this Motown City fight.

Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon was simply determined to see this 58th INDYCAR victory through in Sunday’s Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix on the Streets of Detroit. (Photo: Wayne Riegle | The Podium Finish)

Among the chaos and mayhem that affected a majority of contenders, Dixon prevailed, besting Marcus Ericsson by 0.8567 seconds. After capturing his second win of the season and becoming the first driver to win multi-time winner of 2024, Dixon praised his hardworking team on another job well done.

“I think I said on the radio about Lap 50, ‘I think we can make it if we stop now,'” Dixon said. “Obviously, we didn’t get that risky, but the team called it perfectly. We were on the right strategy. Everyone on the No. 9 PNC Bank Honda did a superb job, and it’s always fun to drive my Honda out there.”

Ericsson erased some of the frustrations from the 108th Indianapolis 500 with a strong runner-up, boosting him up to 14th in the points standings. That was not lost upon his mindset along with the top four spots swept by Honda powered cars.

“Great result for us!” Ericsson said. “We had a really tough Month of May, and this weekend started out tough for us as well with me hitting the wall in practice. We’ve had to dig deep, but I’m really proud of this whole No. 28 group, they’ve really come together and really the whole Andretti organization.

“They gave us great cars this weekend. It feels good to be on the podium, it feels great to have a Honda 1- 2-3-4. After the month of May, we’ve bounced back and shown great strength here.”

Armstrong, Dixon’s young teammate at Ganassi, was relieved to score a podium considering how his car exhausted all of its fuel for the finish.

“I ran out of fuel as we came across the line, so we didn’t leave anything in the tank metaphorically or literally out there,” Armstrong said. “It was a lot of fun. I’m happy with that. Exhausted, but happy! And to be part of a Honda 1-2-3-4, that’s just awesome.

“Road America is my favorite track here in the states, so I’m really looking forward to that one. We’re just going to make next week a little bit more simple, ideally, and be on the podium again!”

Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson and Marcus Armstrong celebrate on the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix’s podium on the Streets of Detroit. (Photo: Christopher Vargas | The Podium Finish)

In a race featuring six lead changes among six different drivers, Dixon was elated with his latest victory on the tough, gritty Streets of Detroit before the road ahead is next Sunday at Road America.

“I mean, how cool is that?” Dixon reflected. “All the variables made today special: trying to keep out of trouble, keep the car on track, we had rain, and all the cautions. You were just never sure how the race was going to fall. It’s just a great day.”

Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix at Streets of Detroit Race Results
Finish Start Car No. Driver Sponsor/Make Status
1 5 9 Scott Dixon PNC Bank Dallara Honda Running
2 9 28 Marcus Ercisson Delaware Life Dallara Honda Running
3 19 11 Marcus Armstrong Root Dallara Honda Running
4 6 27 Kyle Kirkwood Autonation Dallara Honda Running
5 16 7 Alexander Rossi VELO/Arrow Dallara Chevrolet Running
6 8 12 Will Power Verizon Dallara Chevrolet Running
7 12 5 Pato O’Ward Arrow Dallara Chevrolet Running
8 22 60 Felix Rosenqvist SiriusXM/AutoNation Dallara Honda Running
9 10 14 Santino Ferrucci Sexton Properties Dallara Chevrolet Running
10 7 6 Theo Pourchaire (R) onsemi Dallara Chevrolet Running
11 11 45 Christian Lundgaard HyVee Dallara Honda Running
12 17 78 Agustin Canapino Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet Running
13 15 30 Pietro Fittipaldi 5 Hour Energy Dallara Honda Running
14 18 21 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara Chevrolet Running
15 20 15 Graham Rahal iPacket Dallara Honda Running
16 2 10 Alex Palou DHL Dallara Honda Running
17 26 18 Jack Harvey invst Dallara Honda Running
18 24 51 Tristan Vautier Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing Dallara Honda Running
19 1 26 Colton Herta Gainbridge Dallara Honda Running
20 4 3 Scott McLaughlin Gallagher Dallara Chevrolet Running
21 23 41 Sting Ray Robb Goodheart Animal Health Center Dallara Chevrolet Running
22 21 8 Linus Lundqvist (R) Be The One Dallara Honda Running
23 14 77 Romain Grosjean Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet Running
24 27 4 Kyffin Simpson (R) Journie Rewards Dallara Honda Running
25 25 66 Helio Castroneves SiriusXM/AutoNation Dallara Honda Running
26 3 2 Josef Newgarden Astemo Dallara Chevrolet Running
27 13 20 Christian Rasmussen (R) GuyCare Dallara Chevrolet Mechanical

Rob Tiongson is a sports writer and editor originally from the Boston area and resides in the Austin, Texas, area. Tiongson has covered motorsports series like NASCAR and INDYCAR since 2008 and NHRA since 2013. Most recently, Tiongson is covering professional basketball, mainly the WNBA, and women's college basketball. While writing and editing for The Podium Finish, Tiongson currently seeks for a long-term sportswriting and sports content creating career. Tiongson enjoys editing and writing articles and features, as well as photography. Moreover, he enjoys time with his family and friends, traveling, cooking, working out and being a fun uncle or "funcle" to his nephew, niece and cat. Tiongson is an alum of Southern New Hampshire University with a Bachelor of Arts in Communication and St. Bonaventure University's renowned Jandoli School of Communication with a Master of Arts in Digital Journalism.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in NTT INDYCAR Series